What God has put together, Let no man put asunder. Part 1

Romance

Introduction

The beautiful sound from the piano, stirred up a lot of emotional memories in my mind not about the past, but rather, the future. That day was the wedding ceremony of my youth pastor and teacher Bro Biscoff as we normally call him. He was such a great inspiration to me as an 18-year-old teenager. I knew the day would come when I also take the stage to be united in marriage.

As I moved around with some friends to help in putting everything together on that day, I took time to see how the pastor officiating the wedding will join them in Holy Matrimony.

These words, were implanted in me from that day, “What God has put together let no man put asunder” Like all of us, we have heard that in almost every wedding ceremony. Theologically we have been taught this verse in Matt 10:9 in relation to how God hates separation in marriage. I knew as a teenager growing up, I will face the reality of that verse one day.

Over ten years up the ladder of life I am at the door of that day. Up until then, all I knew was what someone taught me and the Christian books I read and studied about marriage. It was a stepping stone, but not a full discovery of truth. I knew ” it’s not the truth that someone else knows and shares that makes you free, but rather, it’s the truth YOU know (for yourself) that makes YOU free.

Marriage

In Genesis, God was the only one to witness Adam call the ONE woman He (God) presented to him (Adam) as a wife (thus Eve). From then on we see them jointed together, inseparable as husband and wife. Carefully sketched as we read on steadily, is how Adam’s, sin affected all of them and the world they were to parent. So we see in marriage, our actions or in actions will have greater compounding effects, either positively or negatively on our relationships.

Marriage, generally as presented in the old testament was perverted after the fall of man later to be corrected in the new testament. We still see in the old testament how marriage is honorable among all things and “he that finds a wife finds a good thing.

The picture of marriage become fully clear as we move away from the shadow of the Old Testament into the reality of the New Testament.

Ephesians 5:31-32 KJV
[31] For this cause shall a man leave his father and mother, and shall be joined unto his wife, and they two shall be one flesh. [32] This is a great mystery: but I speak concerning Christ and the church.

This is the crème de la crème, a great mystery. Marriage is a complete reflection of how individually and collectively as a church we are joined to Christ, inseparable, one body, one spirit.  Heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ Jesus. Our Identity is swallowed up by his identity. We have full access to all the divine authority, power and prosperity available in the God-heard and participating in the divine experience.

The more I understood this great mystery, the simpler my Christian walk became. How did I miss this from the beginning?

Yes, I realize the truth in the sermon preached at the marriage ceremony. What God has put together let no man separate. If this is true about the physical marriage, shouldn’t it be more true about our spiritual marriage with Christ? Why do we keep dividing what God has put together? We commonly say, ” my anointing, my gift, my faith, my power, my dreams etc.”. Thus what makes the Christian Life difficult for most of us.

The Divorce Problem

Firstly, we have divorced ourselves from Christ, mainly through ignorance.

We look to our own self accomplishments which are like filthy rugs rather than trusting in what Christ Jesus has accomplished for us by Grace. Rather than discovering my Christ identity, I struggled in search for my self-Identity. This is simply selfishness; Christ Identity is not the same as Self Identity. “I was Crucified with Christ nevertheless I live, but not I, it is Christ that lives in me”. I will never forget when the Spirit of God revealed to me; “the ONLY and GREATEST deliverance anyone needs, is not deliverance from the devil, but rather deliverance from SELF” because the devil has already been defeated. Lots of divine and godly relationships and marriages divorce because two selfish people cannot be united together.

Secondly, As I fellowshipped with the law of Moses thus the Old Covenant, I realised how separated(divorced) I was from God but the Gospel (the Too Good to be True) in the New Covenant reveals to me how Christ has broken down the middle wall that separated me from the Father. By one Spirit have we all be baptized (submerged) into Christ. There are those who through ignorance still preach today a distance God, an angry and judgmental God who is counting our sins. The truth is seen especially in what Jesus told the disciples in his concluding statements, thus, He and the Father, will come and make their home (dwelling place) in us through the agency of the Holy Spirit. He said He will never leave us nor forsake us. He loves us enough to forgive us, correct and guide us. God was in Christ Jesus reconciling the world to himself not counting or inputting our sins against us.

Finally, we are all a reflection of the perceived image we have of God to our spouses, children, friends, colleagues and love ones. A negative image about God thus unforgiving, angry, judgmental and repulsive towards sin, will affect the way we treat others. The vice versa is true as well, when we have a positive image about God. It influences the way we are forgiving, generous, patient, faithful and loving.

Remember, what God has put together, let no man put asunder.

I specially invite you to connect with me here at the “Jesus Café ” with your inspired comments, discussions questions  as we fellowship and share at #wirelesschurch                                                                                                                                                            marriage 1

3 thoughts on “What God has put together, Let no man put asunder. Part 1”

Leave a Reply

